Viks open preseason camp today

By Portland State  Aug 9 2016, 9:15 am — Leave a comment
XX PSU Preseason Camp Opens

Portland State football opens its most-anticipated season in many years with the start of fall camp on August 9 at Stott Community Field. The Vikings, fresh off their best Division I season in school history, will try to back that up in 2016 as they make a run at a second straight winning season, contend for a Big Sky Conference Championship and a second straight trip to the FCS post-season.

Portland State’s 2015 success (9-3 overall, 6-2 Big Sky, FCS playoffs, final ranking 10th) started at the top with Head Coach Bruce Barnum, who was named FCS National Coach of the Year (as well as Big Sky Coach of the Year). Barnum is back on the Park Blocks for his second season as head coach, and seventh season overall. He has 46 returning letterwinners and 14 returning starters. Leading on the field will be SR QB Alex Kuresa (2015 Big Sky Conference Newcomer of the Year) on offense, and second team All-Big Sky Conference defenders SR CB Xavier Coleman and JR DE Davond Dade.

Portland State will open its season on Sept. 3, hosting Central Washington at Providence Park. The Vikings then go on the road for three challenging games at San Jose State (Sept. 10), Washington (Sept. 17) and defending Big Sky Champion Southern Utah (Sept. 24). PSU hosts Big Sky Conference home games against Idaho State (Oct. 1), Cal Poly (Oct. 15), Northern Colorado (Oct. 29) and Eastern Washington (Nov. 18).

Portland State Football Pre-Season Practice Schedule
Tues., Aug. 9: 10 a.m.-Noon
Wed., Aug. 10: 10 a.m.-Noon
Thurs., Aug. 11: 10 a.m.-Noon
Fri., Aug. 12: 10 a.m.-Noon
Sat., Aug. 13: 10 a.m.-Noon
Sun., Aug. 14: Off Day
Mon., Aug. 15: 10 a.m.-Noon
Tues., Aug. 16: 10 a.m.-Noon, 5-6:30 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 17: 4-7 p.m. (scrimmage)
Thurs., Aug. 18: 10 a.m.-Noon
Fri., Aug. 19: 10 a.m.-Noon, 5-6:30 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 20: 10 a.m.-Noon
Sun., Aug. 21: Off Day
Mon., Aug. 22: 10 a.m.-Noon
Tues., Aug. 23: 10 a.m.-Noon, 5-6:30 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 24: 4-7 p.m. (scrimmage)
Thurs., Aug. 25: Off Day
Fri., Aug. 26: 10 a.m.-Noon
Sat., Aug. 27: 10 a.m.-Noon
Sun., Aug. 28: Off Day
Mon., Aug. 29: 10 a.m.-Noon
Tues., Aug. 30: 10 a.m.-Noon
Wed., Aug. 31: 10 a.m.-Noon
Thurs., Sept. 1: 10 a.m.-Noon
Fri., Sept. 2: TBA
Sat., Sept. 3: vs. Central Washington, 2:30 p.m.

TOP RETURNING PLAYERS
The Vikings return 14 starters, seven on offense, five on defense and two on special teams. A total of 25 players who have made starts during their careers are scheduled to return in 2015.

A breakdown of who returns (/ means players shared starts):

OFFENSIVE STARTERS RETURNING (7): OL Desmoun Thompson, OL Cam Keizur, OL Chad Bach, OL Randin Crecelius, TE Cam Sommer, WR Darnell Adams, QB Alex Kuresa
OFFENSIVE STARTERS LOST (4): LT Kyle Smith, RT Mike Davis, RB David Jones, WR Thomas Carter
DEFENSIVE STARTERS RETURNING (5): DE Michael Doman, DE Savali Talalemotu/Davond Dade, NICK Beau Duronslet, CB Xavier Coleman, SS Walter Santiago
DEFENSIVE STARTERS LOST (6): DT Daniel Fusi, DT Sadat Sulleyman, LB Jeremy Lutali, FS Patrick Onwuasor, CB Aaron Sibley, LB AJ Schlatter
SPECIAL TEAMS STARTERS RETURNING (2): K Jonathan Gonzales, P Marcus Kinsella
SPECIAL TEAMS STARTERS LOST (1): LS Kameron Canaday
OTHER LETTERWINNERS THAT RETURN (career starts): UQ Paris Penn (4), WR Josh Kraght (4), WR Blair Cavanaugh, S Tyler Foreman, S Malik Cyphers, WR Stevie Coury, CB Artuz Manning (4), RB Nate Tago (4), CB Chevy Walker, CB Anthony Jenkins, S Darien Washington, RB Mitchell Thompson, CB Kahlil Dawson, WR Nick Moran, LB Austin Wolff, LB Mosa Likio (2), DE Perry Groves, LB John Norcross (8), OL Justin Outslay, TE/OL Josh Brown, OL Chad Bach (8), OL Josh Hanson (1), WR Trent Riley (4), WR Justin Calo, DT John Jackson (1), DE Larry Ross, DT Will Dawson (2), DE Cutter Baldock, LB Anthony McNichols (4)

TOP STATISTICAL RETURNERS
Rushing Yards: Alex Kuresa 755, Nate Tago 421
Rushing Touchdowns: Alex Kuresa 7, Nate Tago 6
Passing: Alex Kuresa 126-226-7, 1,975 yards, 17 touchdowns
Receptions: Darnell Adams 22, Josh Kraght 16
Receiving Yards: Darnell Adams 478, Josh Kraght 227, Trent Riley 223
Receiving Touchdowns: Darnell Adams 6, Trent Riley 2
Scoring: Jonathan Gonzales, 13 FG, 50 PAT, 89 pts
Field Goals: Jonathan Gonzales 13-16
Total Offense: Alex Kuresa, 2,730 yards
All-Purpose Yards: Alex Kuresa 780; Kahlil Dawson 777, Nate Tago 529
Punting: Marcus Kinsella, 64-40.9
Punt Returns: Josh Kraght, 17-89
Kick Returns: Kahlil Dawson 31-777
Tackles: Beau Duronslet 64, Xavier Coleman 52
Tackles For Loss: Michael Doman 9.0, Davond Dade 6.5
Sacks: Davond Dade 6, Michael Doman 4.5
Interceptions: Xavier Coleman 5
Pass Breakups: Xavier Coleman 13, Walter Santiago 8

2015 HONOREES RETURNING

2nd team All-Big Sky Conference: Davond Dade, DE; Xavier Coleman, CB
3rd team All-Big Sky Conference: Cam Keizur, OG; Jonathan Gonzales, K
Honorable Mention All-Big Sky Conference: Darnell Adams, WR; Randin Crecelius, OG; Alex Kuresa, QB; Kahlil Dawson, RS; Michael Doman, DE; Walter Santiago, S
&&PSUFBHelmetCjQTOO1VEAANyM4

Portland State

Posts Google+